How and when you can fly in Shadowlands wow shadowlands flying mount

We've been looking forward to flying in WoW Shadowlands ever since the expansion launched last November. And while the MMO has seen some of the most significant changes since the Cataclysm, months of waiting to fly in the new zones is one thing that hasn't changed.

The Shadowlands 9.1 update is the first major patch to hit the current expansion. And while new systems, such as Shards of Domination, may take some adjustment, we can all look forward to soaring over the new zones. Here's how to unlock WoW Shadowlands flying and take to the skies in the afterlife.

WoW Shadowlands flying: How to unlock it

Once you've reached Renown level 44 with your Covenant, you'll unlock one of the new Campaign Chapters, The Last Sigil. Once you have completed this, you should get the quest The Primus Returns, which then rewards you with the 'Memories of Sunless Skies' item. Using this unlocks Shadowlands flying for all the characters on your account.

Where you can fly in the Shadowlands 

Flying has some restrictions due, in part, to the layout of the zones. These are the areas where you can fly:

  • Ardenweald
  • Bastion
  • Maldraxxus
  • Revendreth

You still need to use a flight master to travel between Covenant zones, as flying isn't allowed in The In-Between. You also can't fly in Oribos, the Maw, and the newly added Korthia.

As of patch 9.1, you'll be able to use any ground mounts in the Maw and Korthia after completing the quest, 'Who is the Maw Walker?'. This means you will no longer need to rely on Maw-specific mounts to get around.

How riding and flying skills have changed in Shadowlands 

The level cap in Shadowlands was squished down to 60, so what does that mean for players levelling in Shadowlands? Alongside restructuring the levels at which you learn new riding skills, the Artisan Riding Skill—previously learned at level 70—has been removed completely. Below, you can see the level requirements for each riding skill in Shadowlands.

  • Apprentice Riding (60% ground speed): level 10
  • Journeyman Riding (100% ground speed): level 20
  • Expert Riding (150% flight speed): level 30
  • Master Riding (310% flight speed): level 40

(Image credit: Blizzard)

Pathfinders from previous World of Warcraft expansions 

Both the Draenor and Broken Isles Pathfinder requirements (from the Warlords of Draenor and Legion expansions respectively) have been removed with the Shadowlands pre-patch. Once you learn Expert riding, you'll automatically be able to fly in these zones without having to earn the Pathfinder achievements first. If you want to fly in Battle for Azeroth zones, however, you'll still need to complete the Pathfinder achievements. 

For completionists, all Pathfinder achievements are still obtainable and still reward the mounts. They're just not required to fly in those zones.

free v bucks generator

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *